The RAPID Program

The Climate Change Commission (CCC), in partnership with the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP) and the Australian Government, expanded its Project Climate Twin Phoenix to cover specific areas that were adversely affected by Typhoon Yolanda (international name: Haiyan) in 2013. This component is the Resilience and Preparedness toward Inclusive Development (RAPID) Program.

RAPID Program is envisioned to strengthen the capacity of local government units (LGUs) and their coastline communities to manage risks from and adapt to the overall impacts of climate change toward resilient and sustainable development. The target LGUs include the City of Tacloban and municipalities of Palo, Tanauan, Tolosa, Dulag, Mayorga, MacArthur, and Abuyog in the province of Leyte; Basey and Marabut in Western Samar; and Lawaan and Balangiga in Eastern Samar.


RAPID Program Areas. Click for bigger image.

The RAPID Program target areas lie along the coastlines of San Pedro and San Pablo Bays in Leyte and Samar


The program supports the long-term recovery of the communities in the target areas by focusing on risk, vulnerability and ecosystem assessments, emergency preparedness, climate change adaptation (CCA), disaster risk reduction, and social safety net mechanisms.

In line with the National Climate Change Action Plan, 2011-2028, the RAPID Program seeks the support of different government agencies in mainstreaming program outputs into development processes. It also intends to contribute to strong national and local-level regulatory frameworks by applying control measures to land use planning, engineering standards, and project design approval.

The RAPID program shall implement interventions to increase the knowledge and awareness of local governments and communities to effect change from “business-as-usual” to more sustainable development practices. It will promote community-level interventions, emphasizing on social inclusion, cultural diversity, and gender responsiveness. Partnerships with NGOs and academic institutions are also established to provide the program with wider reach.



  1. RAPID’s program structure is subsumed in the project board of the Project Climate Twin Phoenix, which provides overall supervision and policy directions to the project. It is composed of the CCC Climate Change Office (CCO), UNDP, the Australian Government, LGU partners, Office of Civil Defense, Department of Science and Technology, Department of Environment and National Resources, Department of the Interior and Local Government, National Economic and Development Authority, Housing and Land Use Regulatory Board (HLURB), League of Cities and Municipalities, and non-government partners.
  2. CCC-CCO, as the implementing partner, is responsible and accountable for managing the project, achieving project outputs and the efficient use of project resources.
  3. An Experts Group will be formed to ensure the technical soundness and consistency of project outputs. It will also assist CCC in firming up methodologies, framework, and strategies.

Depending on topics, experts from the Department of Agriculture, Department of Environment and Natural Resources, Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration, Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology, Office of Civil Defense, Mines and Geosciences Bureau, HLURB, NAMRIA, LGUs in target areas, NGOs, and academic institutions will be consulted.

  1. Responsible partners shall be identified in the delivery of outputs and management of financial resources. They are formed into a technical working group to ensure complementation of activities, regular progress updates, and resolution of implementation issues.
  2. UNDP shall provide independent oversight and monitoring. It shall ensure that project activities are completed accordingly.